Sat July 21, 2012
Cultural, Community, Information

The Cleveland Orchestra Live

Airs Saturday, July 21 at 12:00 noon.  Red River Radio is pleased to bring back the Cleveland Orchestra for another superb season of broadcast concerts from the orchestra's home at Severance Hall in Cleveland and from concerts performed around the country and the world. On this week's concert Music Director Franz Welser-Möst will take the podium to lead the orchestra in Stravinsky's Concerto in D for Strings and his Ballet music from Agon. The concert will close with a performance of Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 in f, Op. 30.


Sat July 21, 2012
Cultural, Community, Information

Russian Accents: Rachmaninoff, Stravinsky and the Piano

Airs Saturday, July 21 at 3:00 p.m. Join us for Part one of an exploration of the piano music of Rachmaninoff with commentary by Valery Gergiev, Alexander Toradze, Gianandrea Noseda and Joseph Horowitz. All performances on this program are live except for Rachmaninoff's 1929 performance.  In this hour we'll hear four works by Rachmaninoff:
     Excerpts from Second Piano Concerto (Rachmaninoff, piano - 1929)
     Etude Tableau in E-Flat Minor, Op. 39 (Vakhtang Kodanashvili, piano)
     Variations on a Theme by Chopin (Alexander Korsantia, piano)
     Excerpts from Preludes, Op. 32 (Ketevan Badridze, piano)