Carnegie Hall Live: Britten's War Requiem Op. 66

May 26, 2014

Airs Monday, May 26 at 1 p.m. Hailed as “a phenomenon” who “pulls together the most intellectually enticing and emotionally gripping [performances] in New York” (The New Yorker), Robert Spano leads his Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in a stirring performance of Britten’s towering masterpiece. The composer created this mammoth meditation against war by juxtaposing Latin texts from the Mass for the Dead with shocking depictions of battle by Wilfred Owen, a British poet who died in World War I.

Robert Spano, Music Director and Conductor
Evelina Dobracheva, Soprano
Anthony Dean Griffey, Tenor
Stephen Powell, Baritone
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Norman Mackenzie, Director
Brooklyn Youth Chorus
Dianne Berkun-Menaker, Artistic Director